Be Who You Want to Be

I can’t stress this anymore: Be who you want to be! I see people at school acting like someone they’re not, and it makes me feel so terrible. These people need to be themselves, even if it means being “outcasts” or “dorks.” Everyone should.

No one has the right to say you have to act a certain way, dress a certain way, or do anything how they want you to. You are you. You are not anyone else.

In our society, there is so much pressure to be the perfect stereotypical person. For girls, it’s the perfect, super-skinny body, perfect hair, dressing stylishly in the newest fashions, and any clothes that bought more than a week ago are like, “so last year!” I feel that this is wrong. No one should be forced to be like that; everyone is perfect in their own way.

Differences can also make others shun someone, whether it’s their grades, ethnicity, interests, or family. Thankfully I’m at a school where this is very minimal. But if they’re any of my readers that experience this or see others experiencing it, I encourage them to stand up for what is right, to “Say what you want to say, and let the words fall out. Honestly, I want to see you be brave!”

{11} Days Until the Steinbeck Competition

On another completely different note, have you read the fifth chapter of Nakoma? It’s there. I also have only received one submission for the contest. Hello! If you have not submitted, go to Chapter Four, re-read, and decide who the new character is and what relation he/she has to Nakoma, and drop your answer in the comment box below Nakoma. The contest will continue until I am done with the sixth chapter that is very revealing, and I estimate that will be in 2-3 weeks.

Carpe diem!

Be yourself,

Chloe

2 thoughts on “Be Who You Want to Be

  1. I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about. I myself used to be like that, but now, I’m crazy and I’m not afraid to show it! I still have trouble with it at dances, however. I want to just bust out some dance moves, but I’m embarrassed that someone will see me, so I don’t unless a lot of other people are dancing.

    I’m kind of surprised there was only one entry, I would’ve thought that someone else would have entered by now. . . . Oh well.

    CARPE DIEM!

Comment, maybe? :)

