Why I Love Cheesy Romance Stories

I went to my school’s book fair today, and I have to say, out of all the seasons, book fair season is my favorite. It comes twice a school year, once in the fall and once in spring, and I just love it. Our library is transformed into a bookshop for two weeks, where I can not only buy fantastic books but also random bookish junk, like cheap plastic bookmarks and pens with hair and faces, for a dollar or less. So, of course, I bought books: Scarlet, the second book in the Lunar Chronicles that I’ve already read but want to own; The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing, because I read Three Times Lucky and fell in love with the characters; and Catch a Falling Star, a book I found interesting by reading the back because a) one of the characters is named Chloe and b) I love a cheesy romance once in a while. Keep in mind I haven’t read two of these books.

Catch a Falling Star is what I’ll be focusing on during this post, and specifically, why I love cheesy romance stories. Because that is the truth. I love those badly written, obvious ending, fuzzy-in-your-tummy feeling books. One of my all-time favorites that I’ve read nearly a thousand times is Geek High, while although it has more of a plot than a romance, it has the nerd-perfect girl-cute crush love triangle, and then the other guy comes and…well you get the point. Another one of my favorite “classics” is The Summer Before Boys, that is a lot about friendship, but also has the girl growing up and the guy that comes in unexpectedly.

According to the back, here’s what I know about Catch a Falling Star: Carter lives in boring, uneventful Little, California. And she likes it like that. But then a movie starts being shot in her hometown, and the star of it all, is, of course, a stunner himself. The girls start falling head-over-heels for the guy, while Carter’s all like, “Whatever.” Then he pays her to be is fake girlfriend for his image, and she takes the job. After all, she needs the money and it’s acting anyway. Then Carter starts to fall for him and her job starts to feel like more…but what’s real and what’s fake?

See? Super cute, cheesy love story. It’s like junk food. For your brain!

music video animated GIF

The most classic love story. Right there. ^

Or, how about…

taylor swift animated GIF

That wraps up my post about cheesy love stories. Do you like them? Post in the comments below.

Love,

Chloe

 

 

One thought on “Why I Love Cheesy Romance Stories

Comment, maybe? :)

