It’s the Journey…Not the Destination

It’s the journey, not the destination.

Have you ever heard that before? I have. In fact, I have a book that talks about it in one part.

When the task at hand is a mountain in front of you, it may seem too hard to climb. But you don’t have to climb it all at once–just one step at a time. Take one small step…and one small step…then another…and you’ll find…the task at hand that was a mountain in front of you…is a mountain you have climbed.

Maybe this quote (from You Go Girl…Keep Dreaming by Ashley Rice) isn’t exactly what you were thinking about when you saw the sentence about the journey. But this is exactly what I’m talking about. The hard journey you undertake is worth it. It’s the journey that matters. The hardships you overcame during it. Not the other side of the mountain. It’s that one step, then another, and another, that matters.

The writing journey is like this. A blank page, either electronic or in your hands, is daunting. You don’t know what to put on it. And when you do, how to say it? What words should you use? What characters, emotions? A blank page is a mountain, and each step the details of your piece, whether fiction or nonfiction.

When you write, think about each step in order. Remember to walk, drink lots of water, and pace yourself.

Now, go on. Go write that story. Conquer that mountain.

Chloe

2 thoughts on “It’s the Journey…Not the Destination

  1. This. Is. Awesome. I agree. When I’m writing a novel, I just want it to be OVER already so I can move on but later when I’m done, I realize that’s the part I like best.

  2. Chloe, This entry is wonderful. You are so passionate and clear eyed. You get your points across so succinctly. I am so very proud of you. I sent this entry to papa’s sister, Daphne, as well. She has a masters’ degree in English from Boston University and loves your blog. Many hugs, Nana

Comment, maybe? :)

