How to Use GIFs in Posts

I’ve been getting a lot of positive feedback on my usage of GIFs, so I decided to post about how to use GIFs effectively, where to get them, and how to know when to put a GIF in.

I get my GIFs from giphy.com. It’s easy to use and gives you huge selection of great GIFs. You just put in what you’re looking for, i.e. “excited”, and it puts up a bunch of GIFs (I just entered “excited” and got 2,963 options). My only complaint is that it takes a little while to load all the GIFs.

You don’t want to overuse GIFs. That is probably the biggest no-no for using GIFs. I admit that I’ve broken this rule before. But keep it in mind; readers want to read the text, not just look at a bunch of GIFs. It’s the content that counts.

Use GIFs that make sense to what you’re writing about.

cat animated GIF

See? Totally random makes no sense. Unless, of course, it’s supposed to be random. That’s different.

So, now that you know where to get GIFs, how to not overuse them, and use appropriate GIFs, how do you know when to put a GIF in? Well, when you have a lot of words, put in a GIF. It’ll give your readers a little break. They also can support your text or help explain a point. I’ve also used GIFs to send a message (like, “Happy Tuesday”) and introduce authors.

Since it’s Tuesday, I have to do Top Ten Tuesday, right? This week’s Top Ten is my top ten favorite GIFs from my posts. They are in no particular order.

1. excited animated GIF

2. emma watson animated GIF

3. harry potter animated GIF

4. the lorax animated GIF

5. writing animated GIF

6. emma watson animated GIF

7. reaction animated GIF

8. music video animated GIF

9. cat animated GIF

10. cute animated GIF

These are just some of my favorites!

Hope you enjoyed this post.

C

One thought on “How to Use GIFs in Posts

Comment, maybe? :)

