Back From the Woods

I’m back from the wilderness…at last a shower, foot-soak, fingernail polish, and internet! It was painful, dude. I’m not a woodsy chick. I’d gladly live in the city instead of the middle of nowhere when I grow up. I NEED MALLS!!!

Ahem.

Now that I’m done being so happy I’m home, I have some stuff to cover, from volcanoes to tennis racquets and everything in between. While I was camping, I read some books. I read Ink and Melting Stones, and I re-read The Fault In Our Stars. Mainly because it’s so freaking good! I didn’t cry, even though I kind of wanted to…maybe my tear ducts are b-r-o-k-e-n. I’ll have to get them checked out… Just kidding. :P

I really looooooooved Ink; I didn’t want it to end, it was that good. It’s a love story set in Japan packed with magical calligraphy writers called kami and culture. I really enjoy reading books set in countries other than my own so that I can learn about their cultures. It seems like there are too many books set in fully-developed, white, modern societies when, if you think about it, there are a ton of other third-world countries that are much more exciting than fat Americans eating cheeseburgers and vegetating. That’s off-topic.

cat animated GIFThe other book, Melting Stones, is by Tamora Pierce. I have fallen in love with her writing. It flows, describes, accentuates–everything. It’s also a bit like my writing, and I tend to lean toward authors who have styles similar to mine so that I can relate. But it’s also–God, I could watch that kitten all night long–good to read books that have styles unlike yours, or mine, so you, or I, can learn from them. Off-topic again. I’m really pushing it today, aren’t I? Sorry. All of Tamora’s (Can I call her Tamora? Or should I say Pierce…?) books are set in a fictional world with magic and nature and knights and castles and mythical creatures. I love that alone. This particular book revolves around Evvy, a stone mage. She and two other mages are sent to an island to investigate a series of dying plants. Then Evvy starts noticing volcanic rocks and shakes in the ground…read what happens in the book! The only complaint I have is that there are a lot of references to Evvy’s past that aren’t explained enough, and it makes it seem as if there is a whole other prequel to Melting Stones to read.

I’m going to start up on Nakoma soon, since I realized I’ll be gone most of the time of Camp NaNoWriMo.

It’s getting late-ish, and I have internet chores to do.

Love hearing from you, sweeties! Remember to comment, like, and follow. If you don’t, I might have to set my lipstick taser on you. Or let the dragon out… You have been warned.

Toodles,

Chloe

 

2 thoughts on “Back From the Woods

Comment, maybe? :)

