2nd Liebster Award, Summer Goals, and Book Sacrifice With My Own Twist

Loads to cover. Okay. First off, thank you, Emily @ For the Bookish, for giving me my second Liebster award. You have absolutely lovely questions.

11 Facts About Myself (That You May or May Not Know)

1. I am obsessed with Paris-themed things, from hats to postcards. Funny thing, though, I’ve never been to Paris. It’s on my bucket list. I’ve been obsessed for as long as I’ve been alive, I believe.

2. My favorite color is turquoise.

3. I own a 2-dollar bill. It’s on my nightstand.

4. I’ve never been out of the USA.

5. My two best friends are boys (I did a post about them).

6. I plan to travel all around Europe someday.

7. I have a turquoise watch.

8. My eyes are a [if I do say so myself] beautiful blue. They have gold flecks in them, too.

9. My favorite noveling music is basically whatever pops up on Pandora or iHeartRadio. I have lots of channels/stations I listen to such as Wicked (Original Broadway Cast), Lady Antebellum, Taylor Swift, I See The Light, and Hunter Hayes.

10. I first listened to Taylor Swift music on a fieldtrip in my friend’s car when I was in second grade.

11. Whatever boys I date will have to live up to the standards of Augustus Waters. So I may be forever alone and an old cat lady.

Emily’s 11 Questions

Do you have a pet? What’s your favorite animal?

I have a cat named Mattie (Matilda is her real name) who I call Mats, Mattipuss, Sweetie, and tons other names. She meows a lot and is very talkative. She also likes to listen to me practice my violin. I have a dog named Charley who is a schnoodle (aka schnauzer-poodle mix). He’s rescue and loves to run. He rarely barks or makes noise. He acts like a cat.

Have a favorite childhood book?

I really love this one called Many Moons. It’s kind of long. It’s about this princess that’s sick and the only thing that will make her better is the moon. The king then sets out to get her the moon. I also like this other book (I forget what it’s called) about a girl that jump ropes and jump roping fairies that she meets.

Favorite pastime, besides reading or writing?

Surfing the net and blogging. I am *somewhat* obsessed with YouTube.

Favorite color? Would you die your hair this color for a million bucks?

My favorite color is turquoise, and I actually want to dye my hair that color. So, yes!

Is there a song that could be the soundtrack to your life?

I think about this a lot… Right now in my life… “I Want Crazy” by Hunter Hayes or, in general, “A Place in This World” by Taylor Swift… I dunno.

Could I see a picture of your handwriting?

DELLA - WIN_20140615_080817

What is your favorite social media site? (Links, please?)

I don’t have a phone, so I’m pretty limited. And parents. But I have Pinterest! My username is BecauseILoveYou. Don’t ask.

What is your favorite word?

Ooh, tough. This one changes… I love librum (book) and azul (blue), but those are in Latin and Spanish. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. Love that! And cashmere, mauve, and periwinkle. I like color words.

What’s your favorite food? Do you like ice cream??

Of course I like ice cream! My top unhealthy food is chocolate, and my top healthy ood is quiche. Yum!

Have you ever read a book you absolutely hate?

Yes. Two, actually. Mockingjay and Catherine, Called Birdy.

What are a couple of your major life goals?

-travel the world/Europe

-become a bestseller

-have a movie made out of my book

-finish ten NaNoWriMo’s and win all of them in a row

The people I nominate are….

Willa @ This is Me and If You Don’t Like It Then Too Bad

Isa @ A Doodler’s Freedom

Sorry, these are the only two I know!

Questions:

1. What is your absolute favorite book ever and how many times have you read it?

2. What is your music style?

3. Do you play an instrument? if so, what is it?

4. How long have you had your blog?

5. What is your favorite thing to blog about?

6. Bucket List?

7. Preferred nail polish color?

8. A song that represents your love life, a song that represents your social status, and a song that represents you on the inside?

9. Your hero and a little about them?

10. Camp NaNoWriMo/NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program accounts? If so, what novel(s) are you writing? If not, would you consider joining?

11. Ebook or Real Book? Why?

That concludes the Liebster Award.

Next on the agenda… My summer goals! Which ones have I accomplished? Let’s see…

My To-Do List For This Summer:

  1. Finish Nakoma. Not yet…
  2. Submit a story to a magazine. Need to do that!!!
  3. Read tons. Yup. And more.
  4. Experiment with henna. Remind my mom about that.
  5. Read Malala Yousafzai’s latest book. Need to get it!
  6. Read The Fault in Our Stars (I know, I should’ve already). Yes.
  7. Watch “The Fault in Our Stars”. This week.
  8. Buy those cute rings I saw. No.
  9. Call/email/hang out with my friends. I hung out, but call/email needs to be done.
  10. Keep blogging. Yes.
  11. BONUS: Start another novel. Not happening.

How much I’ve finished: 3/11. Aaaah!!!!!

stephen colbert animated GIF

It’s only the beginning of summer, though. Pretty good if you think about it.

nodding animated GIF

Now, for the Book SACRIFICE!!!!

I was watching Xtine’s book vlogs, and saw her Book Sacrifice tag. The point of it is to sacrifice books you hate. BUT a sacrifice is usually something precious or valuable to someone, so I’m adding my twist to it. You have to sacrifice books with certain things you like, such as a nice cover or first sentence, and a book you hate.

NOTE: I will not use any of my own “classics” which are Harry Potter, PJ&O, HoO, and TFIOS.

Scenario 1: You’re browsing in a bookstore when all of a sudden you hear over the speakers, “ZOMBIE APOCOLYPSE!” You freak out and hide behind a bookcase. And then the zombies come. [“Aaah!] They make another announcement saying that the only way to kill these zombies is hit them on the head with a book with a really great first sentence. Of course, you are super upset, but run to get the perfect book. What book is that? I would get The Clockwork Three.

Scenario 2: You’re in the hair salon, and the stylist is just finishing your beautiful, perfect, awesome hairstyle, when it starts pouring buckets of rain outside. You don’t have an umbrella or jacket, so you have to choose a book with a really really really nice cover to save your hair. Which book would you sacrifice? I would choose Cinder.

Scenario 3: You’re in the library, just hanging out, when global warming explodes. [I don’t get this one, but what the heck.] It becomes freezing cold everywhere. Your dad calls you and says the only way to save yourself is to burn whatever you can to stay warm. Obviously, he tells you, you should burn books. But you can’t bear to burn lovely books, Dad! He says you should burn books you hate, then. Which book that you hate do you burn first? I would burn Catherine, Called Birdy. I hate that book! It’s a girl, Birdy, just ranting and complaining in her journal; it’s dismal.

Scenario 4: You’re in the wings of a theater, waiting to get on stage. The director suddenly rushes in and says you’re on in two minutes. It’s then that you remember you’re chewing gum and need to spit it out before you go on; you’re singing a solo! You’re too scared to swallow it. You look in your bag for a tissue, but there isn’t one. You do find a book you’re reading. It has a beautiful last page. What book’s beautiful last page would you sacrifice? I would sacrifice The Girl Who Could Fly.

I hope you enjoyed my super long post. Thanks for getting here.

cute animated GIF

Comment, like, follow.

C

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “2nd Liebster Award, Summer Goals, and Book Sacrifice With My Own Twist

  1. I am so glad your favorite color is tourquoise. I hope you will help me pick out the exact color and help me paint one wall in my guest bath this summer.
    Of course you want to go to Paris- I look forward to that day for you!
    True that Hawaii is a state so going there was not out of country but it was off continent and you had experience flying, and flying over an ocean, and landing safely and meeting new people and seeing new things. That is traveling, so there!
    Let’s find that book you want to buy by Malala when we have a few days together soon. I will buy it for you.
    Obsession with you tube is understandable- there is so much to look at but the trick with obsession is monitoring it so you have control and it does not have control over you. A timer set so you quit when it goes off, or not looking at you tube until 15 minutes before curfew, or….
    Looking forward to next chapter of Nakoma, of course, like we all are.

    I love you.
    Nana

  2. 10. I first listened to Taylor Swift music on a fieldtrip in my friend’s car when I was in second grade.
    THAT WAS MY CAR!!!!!!

Comment, maybe? :)

