A Little Bit of Lots

I know my posts have been somewhat dry and on-the-spot these past days, mainly because I’m trying to save all my energy for Nakoma. Camp NaNo starts in 15 hours!

how i met your mother animated GIF

In fact, I probably should be writing. But I am sacrificing that for you, so you don’t think I’ve gone and died a horrible death, and because blogging is very addicting. But it’s not bad for you! (At least, I don’t think so…) So, today’s post will be a little bit of lots of stuff.

A little note before I continue: Chapter Twelve of Nakoma was titled “Finding Cadmium” but I’m changing it to “Emerald City.” So don’t be alarmed when you see the hole chapter. By the way, did you like the teaser? Mwa-ha-ha-ha!!!

I have read many books in my lifetime. And many of these books have had characters with very simple, common names. Harry. Leo. Frank. Al. Hazel. But other books had characters with complex, unusual names. So today I will discuss how to name your characters.

The most important thing to keep in mind: There are, in my opinion, two ways to name your characters. One is to name them based on their physical features or who they are. For example, the name Esmeralda would work for a character with emerald-green eyes. But then you can name them the way a parent would name their child. Pretty random, and not based on appearance.

Choose which one. Now, you can make up a name. Like Falia, from my novel. It came to me. It’s not a real name. Or you can go onto a baby naming website and put in a meaning or choose a first letter. There are also character naming websites. Just Google or Yahoo or Bing it.

I started following The Measure of a Book. Check it out!

I guess that’s it; I have to write.

Carpe librum!

Chloe

Comment, maybe? :)

