Top Ten Tuesday and Stargirl Review

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the Broke and the Bookish. It is a list of top ten things that all bloggers (or non-bloggers!) can participate in.

It is that time again, lovely readers, for Top Ten Tuesday. As you can see above, I am finally giving credit to the wonderful blog that created this meme, and I’m very sorry for not doing this before. I mainly did not know who created it, because I just saw it on other blogs. So, yet again, I am very sorry. Now, on to today’s TTT! In spirit of being busy, my TTT is my top ten things to do this week list.

Top Ten Things to Do This Week

1. Go to the local bookstore and buy one (or two…) book(s).

2. Go to the library and get many books!

3. Experiment with henna.

4. Buy white nail polish for cute newspaper-nails design.

5. Write as much of Nakoma as possible!

6. Figure out how people learned about TIMV.

7. Get together with a friend I’ve been meaning to meet up with.

8. Email/call friends.

9. Keep finding material for TIMV.

10. Finish school shopping.

There you have it! All ten things to do this week. Hopefully I’ll get to all of them…

Confession: I finished Stargirl a long time ago, but I didn’t do a review right away. So here it is.

  Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

I actually started Stargirl a while ago, but put it down for a reason I don’t remember. It was probably because I didn’t like the writing, and, in truth, I have not liked Spinelli’s books that I’ve read in the past. I read Maniac Magee and Fourth Grade Rats. Both were required reading for school, and I did not enjoy either.

When I picked up Stargirl for the second time, I was immediately entranced. The writing was all right, but I loved the characters, the plot, and the themes. The characters were all so different, but realistic. Except for Stargirl, of course. She is otherworldly.

Stargirl was my favorite character. She is so loving and organic. I absolutely despised Susan, her fake self. I won’t say more in case of spoilers.

Leo was pretty lovable, too. It’s so cute how he’s head-over-heels in love!

My absolute favorite thing about the book is how it comes full circle. It starts with a porcupine necktie, and ends with a porcupine. That is truly writing magic, and so fitting with the book.

My only complaint is the writing: it can be repetitive, and it’s just not my style.

You have to read this book!

excited animated GIF

Have you read Stargirl? Did you like it? Tell me in the comments below.

-C-

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday and Stargirl Review

  1. Did you know that there are also weekly prompts on the Broke and the Bookish blog? Of course, I still love reading your own prompts for yourself, but there are also some interesting prompts on their blog. One of my goals for this week similar to your goal of writing as much of you can on Nakoma. My goal is to write as much as I can for my own WIP, Empty. However, Empty is just a working title because now that my story differs so much from my outline, the title doesn’t even make sense anymore.

Comment, maybe? :)

