City of Glass Review

I finished City of Glass by Cassandra Clare this morning, and I thought I’d do a review. [Mainly because I promised you one. Kind of. It was implied.]

Book Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Title: City of Glass

Author: Cassandra Clare

Number of Pages: 541

Genre: YA Fantasy

Overall Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Summary From Cover: To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.

CAUTION: Spoilers Below; Read At Your Own Risk

Discussion: This book was an emotional rollercoaster for me. (And not one that only goes up.) I cried, I smiled, I laughed, I was devastated–all within 541 pages, 20 chapters, and thousands of words. It didn’t take me long to finish this, only about a day. Some parts I really wanted to end ASAP, but other parts I wished would go on for eternity.

The characters made me very mad. There was always a misunderstanding, or argument, or someone hiding information, and I wanted to scream at the characters and throw the book across the room! Alas, I could not, because it is a library book. [At least I bought the fourth book, so, City of Whatever is Next, prepare to be destroyed. Muah-ha-ha-ha!]

laughing gif animated GIF

There was so much action and surprises and it was just bam!, he’s not Valentine’s son, bam!, Alec is dating Magnus, bam!, Jocelyn’s back, bam!, Sebastian is not really Sebastian, bam bam bam! Lots of bams!. As you can probably tell, that made it very hard to read without yelling out loud, but also made it a very exciting book, with new twists and turns.

I really love how a character will discover something new and then–the author switches the point of view, so you’re always on your toes and you don’t know what will happen next. Speaking of writing, I love Clare’s style and wording; it all flows just…perfectly. I hope my writing can be half as good as hers.

I hope you enjoyed my review of City of Glass; I can’t wait to read the next book! Have you read the Mortal Instruments? Did you like them, and if you haven’t will you read them? Tell me in the comments below.

Since it’s the end of the week, I need to see if I finished my list! Let’s look…

1. Go to the local bookstore and buy one (or two…) book(s). Went to the bookstore!

2. Go to the library and get many books! Check.

3. Experiment with henna. Going to today, so check?

4. Buy white nail polish for cute newspaper-nails design. Did it; it failed.

5. Write as much of Nakoma as possible! Kind of…

6. Figure out how people learned about TIMV. I have no clue!!!

7. Get together with a friend I’ve been meaning to meet up with. Couldn’t happen.

8. Email/call friends. Emailed!

9. Keep finding material for TIMV. Yep.

10. Finish school shopping. Done.

I finished 7/10. Pretty good. :)

I’m going to a family reunion this week. I’ll be leaving tomorrow (Sunday), and will return Friday or Saturday. I don’t know if I’ll have internet, but if I do you will hear from me on Monday or Tuesday. If I don’t, then you won’t hear from me until I get back, and, if so, have a good week!

Best wishes,

Chloe

One thought on “City of Glass Review

Comment, maybe? :)

