55 Questions About Reading and Books

I got these from Isa @ Books and Stuff. They were really fun to answer!

1. Favorite childhood book?

Many Moons by James Thurber. It’s a picture book I loved to read when I was really little. Sometimes I read it now, too. :) Little flashback. I also love Harry Potter, but I read that in third grade. So I don’t know if that counts as childhood or not.

 2. What are you reading right now?

The Mortal Instruments series. And an autobiography of a blind sled dog racer.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

I think I requested Looking for Alaska by John Green…I think I forgot about it. Whoops. XD

4. Bad book habit?

Too many at once! But I’ve kind of stopped doing that. Kind of.

5. What do you currently have checked out of the library?

A LOT!!! Too many to list, but here are some: books 2 & 3 in the Delirium series, Love, Stargirl, and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

My computer turns into a tablet, and I got the Kindle app. But I haven’t used it. I downloaded a free ebook, but I just can’t read on a screen!

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once?

One book, but sometimes I mess up and start a few at once.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

I used to just browse the library randomly, but now I have recommendations from my bloggy friends. I also started getting into more YA, which I love and find a lot better than MG. I also finish more books, because I promise my readers reviews.

I guess discovering more books also came from reading The Fault in Our Stars, because I started Googling books like it. I found reviews on them, though, which helped me decide if they were worth reading.

9. Least favorite book you’ve read so far this year?

Mockingjay. I had high expectation for the whole series, but I was thoroughly disappointed with the writing. And the plot seemed to drag on.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?

The Fault in Our Stars, hands down. But the runners up would be The Mortal Instruments series, Divergent series, and Delirium.

11.  How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

My comfort zone stretches pretty wide, from contemporary to dystopian. I don’t read a lot of Mystery, but it’s not because I don’t like them, but because I don’t find many. I guess outside of my comfort zone would be non-fiction. But I’m reading my second autobiography this year, so I try. I just find non-fiction quite boring, while my dad only reads it.

12. What is your comfort zone?

Like I said, it stretches pretty wide. But I really love a good romance or fuzzy contemporary, just to read a happy ending when my life isn’t going too well. That is my super-comfort zone, I guess. Reading The Mortal Instruments is kind of a stretch, mainly because I am really caught up in the characters and adore them and hate when they are in trouble which is most of the time, but there are some sexy, intimate scenes, and I really don’t like that. Or swearing.

13. Can you read in the car?

Yes! Forever, practically. It actually helps me not be carsick.

14. Favorite place to read?

My bed. I’m really not picky though, as long as there’s light and a soft chair.

15. What is your policy on book lending?

I’ve never really lent books before. I lent one to my best friend (House of Hades) and the only policy I had was that I keep the cover and that he return it immediately after he finishes. To my disappointment, it was a little beat-up when he returned it. I was okay with that, though (kind of), because I think loved books should be a little worn.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?

Yes, and I have no shame in doing it. Like I said above, well-read and well-loved books should be a little worn, in my opinion.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of books?

No, although frankly I find the concept lovely, and I really would love to. Unfortunately, I mostly get books from the library, so I can’t do that.

18. Not even with textbooks?

I’m not allowed to, because our books get reused every year.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?

I only speak English. Although I have spent seven years learning Spanish, I can hardly read in it, but I would like to. It is such a pretty language.

20. What makes you love a book?

Characters I can partially relate to or adore, exceptional writing (I am very picky about this), and a complex plot with an unexpected ending and twists and turns. Of course, sometimes I like a predictable contemporary plot.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

When I really love it (duh!).

22. Favorite genre?

Ooh, toughy. I love lots; it really depends on my mood. I’d say when I’m having a hard time, contemporary, but otherwise fantasy or dystopian.

23. Genre you rarely read but wish you did?

Non-fiction.

24. Favorite biography?

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

Haven’t we all read the puberty books? I actually have a favorite (don’t judge!) that I turn to for advice a lot. It’s called Girl Stuff: A Survival Guide to Growing Up by Margaret Blackstone and Elissa Haden Guest. It’s answered a lot of my questions!

26. Favorite cookbook?

I don’t really read cookbooks unless my parents force me to, but my mom has a cake recipe cookbook called The Cake Bible that has a lot of yummy recipes.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?

I’m going to do fiction AND non-fiction. For fiction, The Fault in Our Stars. For non-fiction, This Star Won’t Go Out by [the late] Esther Earl and her parents.

28. Favorite reading snack?

I don’t really eat while I read, but I remember eating a brownie while reading a Percy Jackson book and getting crumbs in the spine. It really ticked me off! I like to drink iced tea while reading, though. Iced tea is my drink!

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.

Honestly, I am very confused about this “hype” thing. Lemme go look it up…

Got it!

Not really, but I guess when I read The Hunger Games trilogy I was expecting a lot from, well, all the hype, but I was disappointed. Maybe if I had lower expectations (meaning less hype) then I would have enjoyed it more, but I was really critical of the writing so I don’t know.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?

A lot of the time. At least my bloggy friends’ reviews.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

If I don’t enjoy a book, I usually end up not finishing it because I don’t feel it’s worth my time, and then I don’t feel like I can review it.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, what language would you choose?

Latin, because I am obsessed with wanting to learn it. Or French or Italian, because they’re both so beautiful. I was considering saying Greek, but it seems rather confusing, with a different alphabet and all.

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?

Probably Harry Potter, at least the fifth or last one. Books don’t really intimidate me, though.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?

Uhhh… I’ll take Isa’s answer, The Odyssey. It’s really long, I think? Otherwise, I have no clue.

35. Favorite poet?

Shel Silverstein. He has great poems, and they’re funny, too! I really don’t read poetry that much, though.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at a time?

4-7.

37. How often have you returned books to the library unread?

A lot, probably more than I should.

38. Favorite fictional character?

Oh my god. Some are: Hermione Granger, Leo Valdez, Annabeth Chase, Clary Fray/Morgenstern, Janie Scott, Percy Jackson, Cinder, Cress, Scarlet, Wolf, Hazel Lancaster, Augustus Waters, Simon Lewis, Isabelle Lightwood…a lot more. This is just current

39. Favorite fictional villain?

I really don’t like villains, but I really like if they’re complicated/misunderstood and if they have good backstory, so Voldemort, or Queen Levana because she’s so mysterious.

40. Book you’re most likely to bring on vacation?

Whatever book I’m reading.

41. The longest you’ve gone without reading?

Isa makes a good point of saying you’re always reading, whether it’s signs or ads or books. Besides that, as in books, probably a few days, and before I could read (now that’s obvious).

42. Name a book that you would/could not finish.

Little Women, Catherine Called Birdy (hate that book!!!), and probably lots more that I can’t think of.

43. What distracts you easily while you’re reading?

People talking. And really loud music.

44. Favorite film adaption of a novel?

Harry Potter!!!

45. Most disappointing film adaption?

Both Percy Jackson movies. They were horridly horrible. Where was Rick Riordan during the making of them???

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time?

$2o, probably

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

I don’t do that. Sometimes I’ll just flip through to see the length of chapters or word size and such, but I just read the synopsis.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?

If I hate it. (See above answers for why I would hate it.)

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?

I actually recently (as in a few weeks ago) organized my bookshelves, but I really don’t like how I organized them. My dystopians are all the way across the room!

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away after reading them?

Keep!

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?

Little House on the Prairie. I got the first five books for Christmas two years ago (I think) but I just haven’t read them, and frankly, I don’t want to.

52. Name a book that made you angry.

Whenever a book is sexist, that makes me really mad. But it’s generally parts.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?

“Minnow” Vail by Winifred E. Wise. I got it for 50 cents or something like that and it’s really old (published in 1962!). I actually avoided finishing it for a while, but a few months ago I picked it up and really enjoyed it.

54. A book you expected to like but didn’t?

The Hunger Games, as I explained above. And kind of A Dark Sky by Giselle Rocha, but it was okay in the end (I email with her frequently, so I don’t want to hurt her feelings). It just wasn’t edited very well, so it was painful for me, as a grammar queen, to read. And there was swearing (see above). But I thought the world was interesting, the plot was entrancing, and the characters were well-developed. She’s writing nine more books in the series!

55. Favorite guilt free pleasure reading?

Little kid, first-reading books. Sometimes I read them when I’m bored. Or my two favorite rereads, Geek High and The Princess and the Pauper. They’re both feel-good contemporaries, but I love them just the same.

 

One thought on “55 Questions About Reading and Books

Comment, maybe? :)

