Requiem by Lauren Oliver Book Review

Book Review: Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Title: Requiem

Author: Lauren Oliver

Number of Pages: 391

Genre: YA Dystopian

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

Summary From Cover: They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past. But we are still here. And there are more of us every day.

Discussion: I finally finished it! Yes! It wasn’t terribly horrid, but it wasn’t wonderful perfection either. I struggled to get through it. Many parts were slow, especially from the main character, Lena’s perspective. I found myself enjoying Hana’s POV better, and for that, I felt bad, because Lena is so sweet and lovely, while Hana makes me want to rip my hair out! But in this book, we see cured Hana, a different side to her. [Can’t give anything away!!! So hard!!!]

And the feels, man, the feels.

feels animated GIF

It was all of them, at random times. I probably looked like an idiot, sitting in a public place, laughing out loud, glaring, and almost crying because of words on a page. I don’t know how Lauren Oliver does it. They’re in mortal terror, and then someone says a joke, an you laugh, completely forgetting they’re about to die. If I could do that, be able to weave magic into words and type them onto a page, reaching out and touching readers’ hearts, GOD would I be the happiest person alive.

I gave it such a low rating, though, because of the slow parts. There were lots of ’em. And it made me want to throw the book across the room! [Of course, I couldn’t, because it’s a library book, and, well…] I do think you should read this series, because it really makes you think about what we take for granted and what our life would be life if that was all taken away.

Did you enjoy my book review? Have you read Requiem? If so, what did you think? If not, will you read it? Tell me in the comments below.

On another note, I am watching Divergent tonight! Finally! With chocolate cake!!!

All the best,

Chloe

Comment, maybe? :)

