A Menagerie of Thoughts

I’m back, with mini-cosmos, TBC, and an update on my reading of To Kill a Mockingbird. Plus maybe more stuff. [I’m out of sorts right now (i.e., tired and the like), so bear with me.]

In class today, we watched Microcosmos. Maybe you’ve heard the TV show Cosmos that aired a few months ago. Microcosmos is similar, but it’s miniature. So instead of exploring galaxies, it’s all about the small worlds in nature. Here’s an overview:

Pretty amazing, right? I watched it on a stack of pillows in class, almost asleep.

Announcement time… This blog has been added to Teenage Blogger Central! Go here to see my page. If you want to check out TBC, go here. Registering your blog is free and super easy. You have to be in the age range of 13-20. And you get to see other blogs, while publicizing your own! So go here to fill out the registration form.

As you can see from the side bar, I am reading To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Of my own free will, by the way, not for English class or anything. I’m only on about Chapter Four, but I’d like to do a bit of an update right now, in bullet points.

  1. The beginning is really slow, packed with information and names and stuff.
  2. The first page is numbered 4. Which is one off my pet peeves: books not numbered correctly!
  3. Scout, the main character, is a lot like Matilda. Young, but intelligent and has a high vocabulary. So it doesn’t sound like the POV of a seven-year-old; it’s more like a teenager or adult.

That’s all I have for now. I guess that’s the negatives. But otherwise those points, it is very well-written, has an intriguing plot and characters, and is nothing like I’ve read before. So we’ll see how the rest goes!

I’m also happy to announce that Bridgett Spicer, the author and artist of Squid Row, just emailed me saying that she’d be happy to do an email-interview with me, so expect that this weekend. You can go to her website here.

To finish up Friday, I’m doing a poll! Cuz it’s poll day! Actually, the poll thingy isn’t working right now, so, sorry, no poll!

signature2

3 thoughts on “A Menagerie of Thoughts

  1. I love the title of this post. :) I think I watched one episode of Cosmos, but I’ve never watched Microcosmos. It’s pretty cool how up close they got to those insects and tiny creatures, though. TBC looks really cool, and I see a bunch of blogs that I recognize on there. Maybe I should register my own blog. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorite books. I hope you’ll like it better as you continue reading.

Comment, maybe? :)

