Book Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman

WARNING: Please only read this review if you’ve read If I Stay. It contains a major spoiler.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Title: Where She Went

Author: Gayle Forman

Number of Pages: 260

Genre: YA Contemporary

Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary From Cover: It’s been three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life.

And three years he’s spent wondering why.

When their paths cross again in New York City, Adam and Mia are brought back together for one life-changing night.

Adam finally has the opportunity to ask Mia the questions that have been haunting him. But will a few hours in this magical city be enough to lay their past to rest, for good – or can you really have a second chance at first love?

Discussion: Woah. Just, woah. This book has everything, just like If I Stay. I went back and reread my review of it, and I noticed that they are very similar. I do think I like the first book more, though.

Where She Went is told in the perspective of Adam, and it is three years after the accident. They’ve broken up and gone their separate ways, Adam with his band, and Mia to Juilliard. In three years, we can see right away that Adam has changed. He’s smoking, taking pills to prevent panic attacks, and touring with his band, which is now famous. And Mia? She’d out of the picture. Adam has a cliché, stereotypical, celebrity girlfriend, whom I despised from the beginning.

But back to Adam. Frankly, I really didn’t like him. As Mia puts so nicely, he’s become a guy. He’s a jerk, and definitely a celebrity I would think ugh at. I found his POV to be very whiny and annoying and bratty.

Enter Mia. This is when I really got into the book. Adam decides to go see one of Mia’s concerts, and they end up seeing each other afterword. Mia is now sophisticated and angry at Adam, and, like him, famous. Except in a totally different genre. I was disappointed with how edgy she’s gotten, less naïve. Which might be for the better, but I missed Old Mia.

So now I’ve just said a ton of negative things. And I actually like this book! It did a good job with feeling, just like If I Stay, and the plot was just as intriguing. But the ending. Just like the last one.

shocked animated GIFI’ll use the same GIF to make my point.

If you have read If I Stay, I do recommend reading the sequel. The storytelling is pretty amazing, and there are plot twists everywhere.

signature2

Comment, maybe? :)

