Thoughts About Wicked

I saw Wicked yesterday, and the one word to describe it? Awesome. And not just cool, but awesome. As in, full of awe. [That’s actually the proper usage and definition.] The costumes, music, acting, effects—everything.

For you imbeciles [I kid, I kid :)] who don’t know what Wicked is, let me enlighten you. It is a musical about the Wicked Witch of the West, and how she became wicked. So it’s like The Wonderful Wizard of Oz fanfiction, onstage!

Please note: I will try to keep this spoiler-free, but I will warn you if I absolutely have to spoil something. However, I will assume you know the story of Dorothy and such, so that will be “spoiled.”

It starts at the end of the story, right after Dorothy has melted her. They sing a song called “No One Mourns the Wicked” which was delivered spectacularly. Right after that number, I knew it would be amazing. The townspeople had well-sewn outfits and their voices were…crazy good.

Then it “flashbacks” to when Glinda, then Galinda, and Elphaba meet at Shiz, and it goes from there.

Some highlights:

When Galinda and Elphaba have to room with each other, and sing a song about it.

“I’m Not That Girl,” because it’s so pretty. [Not. Spoiling.]

The finale of Act I, “Defying Gravity.” The effects are amazing, and Emma Hunton, who played Elphaba, had an amazing voice. She has great breath-control and power!

The steampunk-esque costumes for the citizens of the Emerald City.

When Elphaba sings “No Good Deed.”

The finale of Act II.

Now, what did I not enjoy?

The actor who played Fiyero’s voice. It was nasally, and not very strong. Although he did a great job at acting, so I applaud him for that! His spotlight song, “Dancing Through Life,” was everything I hoped it to be.

I guess that’s all I didn’t enjoy…Oh, yeah. The unnecessary dragon, who, although it was a great work of art, had no part, except being a “clock dragon,” which I did not get.

I also loved how it tied in with the original story. [Spoilers ahead.] You see a caged lion cub, which turns out to be the Cowardly Lion. Then Fiyero is taken by the guards and “hung” in a cornfield. Elphaba, to protect him, puts a spell on him, turning him into a scarecrow. And Boq, the munchkin, who pretends to be in love with Nessarose to please Glinda, becomes heartless because of Nessa. Then, when Elphaba tries to save him, she turns him to tin, and he becomes the Tin Man.

If you have not seen this play, try to see it! It is truly amazing. If you can’t do that, look up the soundtrack on YouTube. The soundtrack is what got me into it. :)

Have you seen Wicked? If so, what did you think? Tell me in the comments below.

P.S. You’ve probably noticed that I changed my blog format. What do you think?

signature2

4 thoughts on “Thoughts About Wicked

  1. The show was awesome. Although the Wizard of Oz was kind of annoying, because it was so loud! And I found that I prefer to be on the stage instead of in the audience. I just like it better.

Comment, maybe? :)

