I. Hate. WordPress.|More About My NaNo Novel :)

So, WordPress kind of sucks right now. My posts are not posting! And I need them to post! I’m sorry I posted my wrap-up, like, way too late, but WordPress died on me. Grr. Makes me want to punch it!!!! [Or send an angry letter.]

Anyway. Enough of my ranting. I have stuff to do!

~MY BIRTHDAY’S IN 3 DAYS!!!~

I am so off-topic right now. GOD.

So, Cait over at The Notebook Sisters recently told us about her NaNo novel. I know I’ve told you about mine and my outlining [which I’m falling behind on], but I’ve decided to elaborate with a Beautiful Books Linkup. :) Sound fun? Let’s go!

A brief synopsis of my novel [from YWP]:

Cait is attending WeBlogCon, and is prepared for a normal convention. Her idea of normal consists of meeting her online friends, attending a few talks, and talking a bit herself, all while exploring NYC with her friends. But Cait isn’t prepared for Dean, whom she thought was boyfriend-potential. He is so different from his online self. And then there’s the offer from the TV company and WeBlog. Can Cait handle the stress? And will she agree to what WeBlog has to offer? Or will she retreat to her home in California?

What came first: characters or plot idea? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I think the plot came first. I want to do something I know about and am familiar with, and I want to do a contemporary. [Since Nakoma is kind of intense.] My dad actually helped me come up with a conflict.

In the past, I’ve been an almost complete panster. That is what Nakoma was born from. But for this NaNo, I want to be a plotter, because I don’t have much time, what with school and everything, to go on a whim, especially if it’s only a month.

Do you have a title and/or a “back-cover-blurb”?
Title: Bloggish
It’s like bookish, but for bloggers! Are you bloggish?
Synopsis:

Cait is attending WeBlogCon, and is prepared for a normal convention. Her idea of normal consists of meeting her online friends, attending a few talks, and talking a bit herself, all while exploring NYC with her friends. But Cait isn’t prepared for Dean, whom she thought was boyfriend-potential. He is so different from his online self. And then there’s the offer from the TV company and WeBlog. Can Cait handle the stress? And will she agree to what WeBlog has to offer? Or will she retreat to her home in California?
What wordcount are you aiming for when your novel is finished?
40k to 50k. I’m going to set the bar at 40k.
Sum up your novel in 3 sentences.
A convention in NYC.
A boy with secrets.
And a surprise.
[I know, it’s very vague.]
Sum up your characters in one word each.
Cait [MC, and narrator]: Bookcake.
Bloggy friends:
Dean: Different.
Belle: Smiley.
Kai: Mainstream.
Gracelyn: Pink.
Xavier: Adorable.
Jazmine: Perfect.
Brandon: Short. [:P]
Amanda: Fangirl.
Loren: Ocean.
Kat: Fun. :D
Kelly: Serious.
Margot-Willa: Autumn.
Which character are you most excited to write? Tell us about them!
I’m really excited to write the twins, Kat and Kelly, because they’re kind of opposites. I really need to work on their dialogue, though.
What about your villain? Who is s/he, what is his/her goal?
The only “villain” or “bad guy” is Cait and her uncertainty. I guess Dean is also kind of a villain, but not quite.
What is your protagonist’s goal? And what stands in the way?
Cait has a few goals: to make up her mind about some stuff I can’t say, and to figure out Dean. What stands in her way is herself.
What inciting incident begins your protagonist’s journey?
I don’t know if it’s “inciting” but Cait’s journey as a blogger begins in June 2009 when her cousin, Jessica [this name may change], celebrates her 1-year blogoversary. Then Cait meets all these fantastic people online and has BUCKETS of fun. :)
Where is your novel set?
In the US, partly in Monterey, California, and partly in NYC.
What are three big scenes in your novel that change the game completely?
  1. When Cait meets Dean in real life for the first time.
  2. When WeBlog offers her…something [no spoilers!].
  3. When a TV company ALSO offers Cait…something.

[These subject to change at any given time.]

What is the most dynamic relationship your character has? Who else do they come in contact with or become close to during the story?
I think the most “dynamic” relationship my character has would be with Belle, who is her friend on the internet, and when they meet, it’s like friend-love at first sight. <3
How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
Cait:
  • becomes more confident
  • becomes more open
  • is a little sadder
  • knows more about the “real world”
Do you have an ending in mind, or do you plan to see what happens?
I have a vague happily-ever-after, but it’s VERY vague. :P
What are your hopes and dreams for your book? What impressions are you hoping this novel will leave on your readers and yourself?
I just hope to finish it during NaNo, and to have it be as warm and fuzzy as I want it to be, along with a little sadness and bittersweetness. I want it to follow my outline, and I want to just be happy about it in general. :)
I’m hoping readers will come away with the knowledge that although the world isn’t going to be all rainbows and sunshine, you can make a happy ending the best you can, and that you can be successful.
I also hope that readers/fans will make quote-thingies with quotes from the book, because many accomplished authors have that.
I hope you enjoyed the lovely tag. :)
Before we go:
  • I’m getting my iPhone 5c today! As soon as I get home! Almost as good as getting books. :)
  • I will be changing to my own domain soon! Let me know if you think I should change my blog name to something more bookish. And if anyone has moved to their own domain [Hey, Sam!], I was wondering how to move followers, posts, and the like. Thanks bunches!
  • I love you soo much. <3

9 thoughts on “I. Hate. WordPress.|More About My NaNo Novel :)

  1. Hey Chloe! Your novel sounds super awesome. Blogger friends are the BEST.

    For moving to WordPress, there are two main things that you have to do: buy a domain name, and buy hosting. A domain name is basically the url that your blog is at (www.freeasagirlwithwings.com instead of http://www.freeasagirlwithwings.wordpress.com). Since you are on the free version of WordPress, your blog is being “hosted” by WordPress, meaning your blog data and info is being saved on the WordPress servers. It sounds complicated, but it isn’t really!

    My blog (Bookish Serendipity) is hosted by the company IPage using their WordPress plan (http://www.ipage.com/wordpress-hosting/) for around 3$ a month. It’s one of the cheapest out there, but if you want the bare essentials you can go with the company GoDaddy (https://ca.godaddy.com/hosting/wordpress-hosting.aspx) for like a dollar a month.

    My experience is with IPage, but it should be similar for any web host. Once you sign up for the Web hosting (you buy it for a year at a time or something) then it will ask you to upload your site file. It’s simple. When you go to the dashboard for your current blog, scroll down to tools > Export. Select the “all content” button, and it will save a zip. file to your computer. Don’t open the file yet. Instead, go back to your hosting and upload the zip. file there. It will take a while to load, but then it will either a) open to your regular dashboard (with the new WordPress.org features!) or b) walk you through a couple more steps before that.

    The export option should move all your posts, and comments, and pages, etc. Only WordPress employees can transfer your followers, but it’s simple. All your have to do is go to the WordPress.com forums and post something like “I just moved from WordPress.com to self-hosted. Can you transfer my followers from http://www.freeasagirlwithwings.com to http://www.NEWBLOGURL.com please? Within a couple days, it will be done.

    When you want to move your blog to a domain, and hosting, you do not need to sign up for WordPress.org. You do NOT manage your site from their. The only reason you do this will WordPress.com is because your site is also “hosted” there. For your new account, log in with either a) your hosting account, and then your new wordpress account or b) using the url: http://www.INSERTBLOGNAMEHERE.com/wp-admin/ which should then pull up your sign-in form.

    When purchasing hosting, don’t select just any hosting. If possible, try to use the GoDaddy or Ipage WordPress option, since it was made specifically for moving for wordpress.com to self-hosted.

    Some other tutorials:
    http://www.wpbeginner.com/wp-tutorials/how-to-properly-move-your-blog-from-wordpress-com-to-wordpress-org/

    http://michaelhyatt.com/ez-wordpress-setup.html

    Whew. This is the longest comment I have ever written, gosh. If you have any questions. you can comment on my blog (www.bookishserendipity.com) or message me through Goodreads (I think we are “Friends”, or tweet me @mybookishfetish. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #8 | Free As a Girl With Wings

Comment, maybe? :)

