Weekly Wrap-Up #10

w2[Yup, I now have a button. :D]

Happy Saturday! Happy first week of NaNoWriMo! Happy first week of NaBloPoMo! Happy November!

So what’s happened in my life this week [besides bloggy stuff and NaNo stuff]:

  1. I am still active on Instagram. Earlier, I said I wouldn’t be able to go on IG, but now I am on more than ever with more mindless posts tagged #nanowrimo2014 and #procrastinating.
  2. I got married. Wait, whaaat, Chloe?! Hehe. I got you guys. In science class we’re learning about genetics, and we got “married” Wednesday for a lab we’re doing where you hatch a dragon and combine genetics and stuff. It was pretty awkward to get married…
  3. I downloaded four more apps. I got PacMan Lite, which I still majorly suck at. Sadly. And I got Snapchat. Yay! I love it sooo much. Vicki [my bets friend] and I use it all the time. XD And I got MuggleNet, which is pretty cool. For those of you who don’t know, MuggleNet is a website and app that keeps you updated on Harry Potter-esque things. And lastly, and probably the best, I got Panem Rising, a game based on Mockingjay. You create a squad with characters, fight Peacekeepers, all that fun stuff. I’m playing as Johanna, whom I accidentally mixed with Katniss to get a better version of Johanna. Little did I know, Katniss would be deleted. Oops.
  4. I am still very obsessed with “1989.” Yes, I am. I play it constantly. ;)
  5. At choir, we are starting to memorize all of our songs! Which is pretty hard, considering we have about six. But they’re all Christmas songs and the lyrics tend to repeat, so it’s not as hard as I thought it would be originally.

NaNoWriMo is a bit daunting now. Which, I guess, is natural. I didn’t get the chance to write as much as I would’ve liked yesterday, and I didn’t hit my word count goal for that day, but guess what? I’m going to write 2,000 words today. That is my goal. I have candy and tea and Taylor Swift, so I will survive and I will not fall behind. Because the #1 Rule of NaNoWriMo, created by the most fantastic, the most honorable, the most intelligent Katytastic, is to not fall behind.

Here is Katytastic’s NaNoWriMo Day 7 video about not giving up. [If you want to just get to the main content, skip to about 2 minutes in.]

I have another treat for you, however: an excerpt from Bloggish!

“If I could, I would marry Starbucks,” Jazmine gushed, sipping her iced mocha. Her sunglasses were back over her eyes in the bright sunlight.

Kai looked up from his Frappuccino and grinned in that cheeky way of his. “But I thought you were lesbian?”

Jaz didn’t laugh. “Who ever said Starbucks was male?” she countered, narrowing her eyes and setting her drink on the nearest table. She was getting into debate mode.

“True,” Amanda agreed, her hands cupping her lemonade. “Technically, Starbucks is gender-neutral.”

“If you want to get really specific,” Belle put in, waving her strawberry smoothies around, “the emblem is a mermaid, so it is female. Therefore, Jaz can marry Starbucks.”

We all bursted into giggles. Kai laughed so hard that his Frappuccino came out of his nose, which grossed Kelly out and made the rest of us laugh even harder.

Once we all calmed down, we attempted to become serious.

“So,” Kat began, “I have this extremely pressing issue I need to discuss.” We all leaned in dramatically. “Which are better: unicorns or narwhals?”

I pretended to straighten my tie. I said in a newsperson voice, “Well, Ms. Gemm, this is indeed an extremely pressing issue, seeing that the narwhals and unicorns have begun to fight again. You see, narwhals have horns and can swim underwater up to a quadrillion miles per hour.”

Brandon interrupted me by clearing his throat. “But you see, unicorns have rainbow magic and horns. So they are equally matched. I say unicorns are better!”

“Narwhals!”

“Unicorns!”

“Narwhals!”

We continued to be silly and immature. It was just like our online conversations, but better, because we could hit another’s arm and laugh without typing “LOL.”

“Hey, guys,” Kelly stopped us. Even she, known for her levelheadedness and serious nature, had joined in on the fun and debating. She held up her silver phone with a simple blue case. “Xavier, Gracelyn, Loren, and Margot are here! They met up when their flights got in.”

We cheered like our favorite baseball team had just won, or better yet, our OTP had kissed. The latter was probably more accurate, considering the environment.

“Let’s go meet them!” Brandon suggested, and we agreed.

The rest of the team (excluding Dean) was camped out at a breakfast place near the airport, their suitcases surrounding them like a barrier. All four of them were from foreign places, and spoke with accents that us Americans couldn’t get enough of. Then again, they adored our supposed accents, too.

Xavier was prim and proper, an absolute gentleman. Gracelyn talked in Australian slang, and with her pink hair, was completely unique. Loren was cool and collected. Margot was funny and bouncy.

“Oh my god, you don’t even know how excited I am!” Margot squealed, hugging us all in turn. Her flaming hair made her look even more animated. “This is a dream come true.”

We all screamed and freaked out some more. Margot gushed over my outfit and Gracelyn, in a cool and calm way, commented on my “absolutely adorable” hair.

Then the bomb dropped.

“So, where’s Dean?” Xavier asked casually in his little British way.

My arms became stiffer at my sides and I could feel my face begin to redden. I pressed my hands against my cheeks to hide the blush. I averted my eyes and studied the cracks in the sidewalk.

“Oh, I don’t know,” Belle answered, but I heard the concern in her voice, saw her barely flick her eyes toward me. “Maybe his plane’s late.”

I didn’t know why I cared so much. He was just another person, after all. I wasn’t this distressed before Margot or Loren arrived. But he’s different, a voice in my head insisted annoyingly. Unfortunately, it was right. He was different, in a way I couldn’t explain to them, no matter how close they were to me.

“He’ll come in eventually,” Jaz reassured us. “Let’s go walk around town, check out the shops. They have some cute little indie places.”

We followed her command and walked around, Kai our pretend tour guide. He made up things about each place, and Jazmine corrected him not-so-gently.

© Copyright 2014 All Rights Reserved.

Do you like? Tell me in the comments below.

My word count as of right now 9038 words.

I finished Clockwork Princess this week. I’ll mini-review it at the end of the month. I am now reading Crewel by Gennifer Albin, whom I met at the book signing I attended.

signature2

5 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up #10

  1. Ha! I didn’t have to do that in grade 7. Lucky me. It sounds like you had a good week, though, and hope you enjoyed Clockwork Princess. I still haven’t read Clockwork Prince. I’m actually doing pretty good with NaNo (20K) but it’s all rubbish. I actually really liked your excerpt. Good luck!

Comment, maybe? :)

