Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

6442769Paper Towns by John Green

Title: Paper Towns

Author: John Green

Genre: YA Contemporary

Number of Pages: 305

Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis: Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

Discussion: So, I reread this book, because I didn’t review it the first time I read it. [IDK]

You start the book feeling like this:

wow animated GIF

La-di-da-di-da, another sweet contemporary John Green book.

Then stuff goes down.

shocked animated GIF

And there is a freaking DEAD GUY and Margo and Q find him and they are nine years old.

harry potter animated GIF

Okay. Okay. I’m okay. I’m fine. Great. Fine. Yeah. Cool. C-A-L-M.

Let’s talk about the book.

A lot of people have said that John Green’s books are all the same, with some nerdy guy who falls in love with a hot girl. This is my second John Green book, and the first was TFIOS, so I’m not sure what to say about that. But Paper Towns does have the same structure as abovementioned. Q, the nerdy guy, falls in love with Margo, uber-cool, mysterious, perfect popular girl. And his next door neighbor.

The basic plot of the book is trying to find Margo, because she ran away. Q thinks she left behind clues for him.

I actually really liked it.

I thought Q was adorable and headstrong, if a bit of a coward at times. [I have a thing for socially-awkward guys. Especially in books. Like Simon Lewis.] And his best friends we and were hilarious. Radar and his Omnictionary thing was a great little quirk. Ben was kind of…perverted, but still really sweet and funny.

And Margo. Mysterious, queen of school Margo. Super awesome. Super headstrong. All in all, a great character. The supporting girls, Laney and Angelica [although we don’t see much of her], were also really great. Laney was at first really “popular” but she ends up being a major character and quirky.

The one thing that bugged me about this book was how much time was spent searching for Margo. I was kind of like, an we speed this up please? But the book needed a plot.

The last scene. The feels. I was like, kiss already! That last sentence. Oh my gods.

kawaii animated GIF I quite enjoyed this book. Did you? Tell me in the comments below.

signature2

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

  1. Yay, I’m so glad you liked this book! I see where the people who think John Green’s books are all the same are coming from – his male protagonists are similar in a lot of ways – but the plots are so much more than nerdy-boy-falls-for-attractive girl. Each one has distinct messages that he weaves into that romance. And anyway, I agree with you about having a thing for guys like Q. :) In fact, I agree with you about all the characters – each one has such a well-developed personality, just as every other John Green character does.

    I hope you enjoy John Green’s other books when you get around to reading them. :)

Comment, maybe? :)

