Beautiful Books #3

1. On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best) how well do you think this book turned out?

Right now, before editing, it’s probably a 5 or 6, if that.
2. Have you ever rewritten or editing one of your books before? If so, what do you do to prepare yourself? If not, what’s your plan?

I’ve never edited before [this is my second novel], but this is my plan:

Look at scenes and figure out which ones to keep, edit, and trash. Also add scenes as needed.

Pick apart scenes and get to the technical stuff.

Focus on wording and how it flows.

And drink lots of tea. :D
3. What’s your final wordcount? Do you plan to lengthen or trim your book?

My final word count is 40,000 words. I will lengthen it, definitely.
4. What’s are you most proud of? Plot, characters, or pacing?

I think the characters are this novel’s best aspect. They all really have a personality. I’m very proud of them.
5. What’s your favourite bit of prose or line from this novel?

Unfortunately, I don’t have a quote right now because of computer issues, but I really do love the lines when they all meet up at Starbucks for the first time.
6. What aspect of your book needs the most work?

The plot. ‘Nuff said.
7. What aspect of your book is your favourite?

The romance. DUH.
8. How are your characters? Well-rounded, or do they still need to be fleshed-out?

I think most of my characters are well-rounded, but the ones that don’t have major parts will be deleted. [Sorry!] I do need to work on backstory, though.
 9. If you had to do it over again, what would you change about the whole process?

I would probably manage my time better and not procrastinate as much.
10. Did anything happen in your book that completely surprised you? Have any scenes or characters turned out differently to what you planned? Good or bad?

One of the characters, Jaz, snagged a bigger role than planned, and others faded into the background. Cait’s aunt is way crazier than planned. And I added a whole new character: Emile!
11. What was the theme and message? Do you think it came across? If not, is there anything you could do to bring it out more?

The theme and message was, um, Starbucks is awesome! And don’t date jerks! I think that definitely came across. ;) [Honestly, this book isn’t about learning a lesson. It is about having fun with friends, learning about each other, and experiencing first love.]
12. Do you like writing with a deadline (like NaNoWriMo) or do you prefer to write-as-it-comes?

I do better writing with a deadline, because otherwise I will just procrastinate.
13. Comparative title time! What published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men, etc.)

Fangirl meets The Summer I Learned to Fly with a bit of The Kind of Friends We Used to Be. Kind of. XD
14. How do you celebrate a finished novel?!

Well, I finished in the middle of the night, so I couldn’t exactly party or anything… But I think I silent-screamed. XD I will also be ordering those three Stephanie Perkins books ASAP.
15. When people are done reading your book, what feeling do you want them to come away with?

Happiness. :)

I hope you liked this tag! If you didn’t, then too bad. I had a lot of fun, at least. Toodles!

signature2

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #3

Comment, maybe? :)

