Book Review: Four by Veronica Roth

Four by Veronica Roth

Title: Four

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: YA Dystopian

Number of Pages: 285

Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis: Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.

Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.

Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling DIVERGENT series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—THE TRANSFER, THE INITIATE, THE SON, and THE TRAITOR—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the DIVERGENT trilogy.

Discussion: WARNING: SPOILERS FOR THE DIVERGENT TRILOGY AHEAD.

Very. Freaking. Awesome. Four isn’t my favorite character in the Divergent trilogy, but I do have a soft spot for him. He was always kind of a mystery to me, so this cleared a lot up. We see his father, the Choosing Ceremony, and his POV on some scenes that we see originally from Tris’s POV.

The Transfer

We experience Four transferring from Abnegation to Dauntless in this story, and we see his father. I really enjoyed this story because it is two years before Tris.

Inside the unlocked trunk was a blue sculpture. It looked like falling water, but it was really glass, perfectly clear, polished, flawless.

The sculpture from his mom! The feels.

<<insert GIF of feels>>

I open my palm over the coals. I feel like they’re burning in my stomach, filling me to the brim with fire and smoke.

I am free.

This is the scene. He breaks free, away fom his father and Abnegation and the world he feels so alien in. However much I liked this, I found it quite similar to Tris. THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE DIFFERENT PEOPLE.

“I’ve got a transfer over here with only four fears.”

Toria points at me, and Amar nods.

“That’s gotta be a new record,” Tori says.

“Well done,” Amar says to me. Then he turns and walks toward Tori’s table.

O.O

The Initiate

Now, he is training to become Dauntless. The initiation process is much more different than the version two years later. You ahve to get a certain score to pass; you don’t have to go against your fellow peers. I think this is better.

I’m not going to share any more quotes, because I have a lot.

I really enjoyed this book and it was a good extra to Divergent. Roth did pretty well writing from Four’s POV, but I still think it is too close to Tris and how she thinks.

So my mouse is dying right now, and I am struggling. A lot.

So, happy new year everyone!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Four by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #18 | Free As a Girl With Wings

Comment, maybe? :)

