Revealing My New Novel

Almost everyone has been asking me about my new novel.

If you follow me on Twitter and/or Pinterest, you probably know more about it than others. Anyway, today I am going to tell you about my new novel. It is still untitled, because I feel like if I title something, not only am I unable to easily change the title, but it puts a box around what will happen in it, and I haven’t written it yet, so things are bound to change.

Let me first introduce you to the characters.

Jack is the main male character. I’m not sure about his last name yet. He is 17 and bisexual or pansexual. I am not sure yet, and once you learn about the female lead, maybe some people who know more about LGBTQ+ things could tell me which one would be more appropriate? He spends a lot of his time on Twitter and Tumblr. He came out ot his family when he was fifteen, and they were very supportive of him. So were his friends. Jack likes to read John Green books, listen to The Script, and eat red velvet cake.

 Margot is the main female character. She is 17, too. Actually, her birth name is Milo. If you haven’t caught it by now, Margot is transgender. She has not come out to her parents. [She does in the book.] She plays violin, enjoys dirt biking, and plays volleyball. She has a great group of LGBTQ+ friends on Twitter who she has come out to, and spends a lot of time tweeting them. Margot’s favorite food is pizza, and her favorite musical artist is Colbie Caillat.

This is set in September 2013-September 2014 in San Francisco, California, USA.

I actually made a graph of each chapter, the POV [because it switches], and the events. When I first sat down, I was completely overwhelmed, but I did it! So now I know everything I’m going to write–I just have to write it.

Here is a picture of my chapters graphed out:

000000

0000000

That probably gives you most of the plot, but if not, here is a synopsis.

Jack, a pansexual teen.

Margot, a transgender teen.

Once they meet, both of their lives change. They instantly become friends, sharing their deepest secrets and insecurities. After a roadtrip along the California coast, Jack encourages Margot to come out to her parents. And when she does, her world comes crashing down around her.

Dun dun dun dun…

I know it’s not the greatest synopsis, because I’m trying not to give a lot away, but it’ll do for now.

I also have a timeline of how long it will take me, and the number of words per day.

741 words per day

5,187 words per week

20,748 words per month

To get 80k, it will take me 3-4 months. I’m shooting for 3 months, though, because April will come and with that Camp NaNoWriMo, and I’d like to do a different project for that.* So I’m going to write my butt off, while doing school things, too. And that will be Science Fair, and then–oh, yeah, I forgot–a hero’s quest story for English, which will take up my time, too. Joy.

*Yes, I know, I’m a writing machine.

funny animated GIF

I’ve been watching a lot of videos about trans teens and kids to get more information and stuff, because I don’t want any of the things in my book to be incorrect.

Here is a short movie about a transgender boy…

and here is a longer documentary about a few trans kids…

On a partially related note, I don’t know if any of you know about Leelah Alcorn. Engie @ Musings From Neville’s Navel did a great post about her, and there are several tweets, too.

Leelah’s parents refused to accept her for who she is, and because of this, she committed suicide. My heart breaks for her.

Leelah was part of the inspiration for my new novel, which is why I put her in this post.

There are two petitions I’d like everyone to sign and share that concern Leelah’s death and trans people.

One is a request for Leelah’s mother to put her real name on her gravestone, instead of her birth name.

The second asks our president, Barack Obama, to introduce a bill that bans conversion therapy all across the USA. Currently, it is only illegal in two states.

Please sign the petitions; they need a lot of supporters.

Are you interested in my new novel? And would anyone like to beta for it? Tell me in the comments below. Also, MHM signup is open until 8PM PST time today. Go here to sign up.

Untitled 7

12 thoughts on “Revealing My New Novel

  1. Your plan. Wow. Organised! This has got me a bit pumped to start *actually* working on my novel, since I basically haven’t touched it since NaNoWriMo finished. I don’t think I’ll be participating in MHM this time, but I’ll be looking out for next month’s, and I’ll be looking through all the posts!

    I’d also be interested to beta…? If that’s helpful? :)

  2. I’d love to beta again :) Your new idea sounds really good (and really heavy, too).

    As for Jack’s sexuality, either bisexuality or pansexuality would work. The difference (as far as I’ve heard) is that most bisexuals are attracted to certain features of each gender, while to pansexuals, gender doesn’t matter. Fandoms and Feminism made a pretty good infographic about it here that explains the difference far better than I can >> http://fandomsandfeminism.tumblr.com/post/77509985383/the-difference-between-bisexuality-and

  3. Oh my gosh…the novel has already kicked me in the feels and you haven’t even written it yet! Good luck with it – and hopefully you’ll get it done by April. :)

  4. Your book sounds amazing! I heard about Leelah, but wasn’t sure what the whole thing was about. I hadn’t even realized the conversion therapy even existed.
    You know, that graph is a really good way of structuring your novel! I should really try that. I think you are strong enough to finish in 3 months! Good luck! :)

  5. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #19 | Free As a Girl With Wings

Comment, maybe? :)

