My Hero Monday: Maria Montessori

As you can see, I have gotten rid of numbers. They kept getting mixed up and confusing. The schedule for other MHM’s will be at the end of this post.

mhm2

 

Maria Montessori

Date of Birth: 1870

School(s): University of Rome

When Did I First Hear About Her: I have this book called Girls Who Grew Up Great: A Book of Encouragement for Girls About Amazing Women Who Dared to Dream by Gwendolyn Gray. I’ve had it since first grade, when it was given to me. It has all these short bios about women who changed the world in a way. I pulled it out for this MHM, and there, the first woman, was who I wanted to do.

What Makes Her One of my Heroes: Maria Montessori created this type of learning program called the Montessori method. It’s a way to learn that is used in many schools now. Children learn to be independent and have fun learning. It prepares them for the future and stuff.

But before she even created that, Montessori defied her parents and went to medical school. While she was working as a physician she developed an interest in how children learn. She worked with mentally disabled children, and then began to study how children learn. In the book it says, “…she developed a method of education in which adults direct a child’s self-learning process.”

This method is used in many schools to this day. And it was created by a woman in the early 1900’s!

Here is a video about the Montessori method:

Quotes: “The greatest sign of success for a teacher…is to be able to say, the children are now working as if I did not exist.”

“The goal of early childhood education should be to activate the child’s own natural desire to learn.”

“Within the child lies the fate of the future.”

“Imagination does not become great until human beings, given the courage and the strength, use it to create.”

Schedule for January 2015 MHM:

October 5:

Chloe @ Free As a Girl With Wings

Evi @ Where Books Never End

October 12:

Bridget @ Stay and Watch the Stars

October 19:

Engie @ Musings From Neville’s Navel

Moosha23 @ All Things Wordy

October 26:

Wrap-up by Chloe

 I hope you enjoyed this MHM. Remember to check everyone else’s out!

Untitled 7

9 thoughts on “My Hero Monday: Maria Montessori

  1. I didn’t know it was a woman created the Montessori method O.O (tbh, I never bothered looking it up), but that’s GREAT! My mom used to be a principal, and she said that it’s one of the best learning methods for young children.

  2. I remember learning about the Montessori method, in 5th grade, in a compare and contrast speech that a classmate did. I had no idea it was created by a woman. I have conflicted feelings about the method, but I guess some ways of learning work for some children, and others learn in other ways. I’m glad that it has helped many though.

  3. The Montessory method sounds so cool. She sounds like such a role model – defying her parents to go medical school? That’s brilliant.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #19 | Free As a Girl With Wings

Comment, maybe? :)

