Beautiful People #5: Author Edition!

I’m participating in Cait’s linkup, Beautiful People. It is pretty awesome, and this time it’s all about the author! Let’s get to it…

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I have been writing ever since I could hold a pencil and spell. Before I could write, I would tell my mom stories and she would write them down for me. In first grade, I wrote and illustrated my first full story. Then, in second grade, I write and illustrated another story, and my entire class wanted copies. [Except for two unnamed boys…] I’m just born to be an author. And fabulous. Obviously. But I didn’t actually call myself a writer until I forgot the whole “famous artist” thing and realized I was a horrid artist. Then I embraced my gift. :P

fabulous animated GIF
2. How/why did you start writing?

I started writing from birth [see above] so I just…did. I have all these stories inside me that need to be let out. They’re not necessarily super inspirational or anything, but they need to be let out.

I also remember really wanting to have a book series as famous as Harry Potter, but with a female protagonist.

3. What’s your favorite part of writing?

My favorite part of writing is the first big idea that comes, either in the middle of the night or in class at school. I get so excited about it and plan everything out. Then, of course, once I sit down, it’s not so easy…

4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Not procrastinating. I have to turn off my internet and shut out Twitter to actually work. Otherwise, I’d never get anything done.

In my actual work, it’s staying away from instalove. THAT IS MY ACHILLE’S HEEL.* I guess I just want it to happen to me so bad that I make it happen to my characters. D:

forever alone animated GIF

*Otherwise I am completely invincible. Obviously.

5. Do you write best at night or day?

I don’t really write at night. [Hi, bedtime!] But when I was NaNo-ing, I stayed up till 1-ish to finish. That was sooo much fun. I want to do it again. I usually write in the morning on weekends and evening on weekdays. It doesn’t really matter to how well I do.

6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

0000000000

You asked.

7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

I only have one completed novel, so… I guess my 65k unfinished manuscript counts, too? Well, one took ten months, and the other one month, and my current piece is estimated to take about three months. I think most of my pieces in the future will be that long [three months] unless they’re a NaNo.

8. How many projects do you work on at once?

ONE.

9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

Honestly, it depends. I like my readers to suffer [hehe] but I also want my characters to enjoy a happy ending. So somewhere in between? I do need to be a little evil, though.

In Nakoma, the ending was going to be LOTS of death and suffering but a good outcome. Bloggish was pretty sweet, and Untitled should be bittersweet. I think. XD

10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

J.K. Rowling, Rick Riordan, John Green, Cassandra Clare, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Rainbow Rowell, Marissa Meyer, and Tamora Pierce.

11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

I let people read my writing because I like to get feedback. I’m also a little scared they won’t like it, though.

12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

My ultimate goal is to be a published teen author. But I just want to always be happy with my writing and have fun.

13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

As well as being an author, I’d like to be a feminism activist. So that’s what I’d probably do if I didn’t write. But I do. So, this isn’t an issue.

saved by the bell animated GIF

14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

I know I want to write an epic fantasy saga, but I think I’ll wait until I have more experience and time.

15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

Currently, my new novel. I have fallen in love with Jack. And Margot. It is so cute and adorably awkward [right now]!

Bridget, Appletail, and Evi, please leave your email addresses below so I can send you the first chapter of my new novel. I can delete the comment afterword, if you wish.

 Untitled 7

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People #5: Author Edition!

  1. I’m really sorry, but I’m not allowed to share my email with people I haven’t met offline. I had figured that you were going to use Figment again, but if you’re using email, I won’t be able to do it. My apologies :(

  2. Not going on the Internet while writing is really hard, which is part of the reason I’m thinking about hand writing my whole next novel. I let people read my writing to get feedback, too, but I think we’re all a little bit scared that people won’t like our writing. It’s definitely one of my biggest insecurities. I really want to be published as a teen, but even if that doesn’t happen, writing is still going to be fun.

  3. Haha, my parents are always complaining that my desk is sooooo messy, but your writing space is even more cluttered than mine! :P I actually like mine that way… Idk, if it’s super-clean it doesn’t feel cozy. It doesn’t feel like ME. And it also means that I don’t have books and papers and stuff to help me write. :)

  4. Ah, writing an epic fantasy saga is something I want to do (all that creativity, huh?). It’s pretty cool that you’ve wanted to write ever since you were born…having stories inside your head all the time must be at epic!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #19 | Free As a Girl With Wings

Comment, maybe? :)

