Feminist Fridays #2

feministfridays2

This is a new feature about feminism called Feminist Fridays. Since I deleted my second blog, A Girl’s Voice, which was about feminism, I decided to have feminism on this blog by introducing a new feature. FF will have topics ranging from what feminism is to my thoughts on LGBTQ+ things and beyond. It is not a linkup, but feel free to leave your own opinion on whatever I am discussing in the comment section below.

There is a wonderful website called feminist.com that I used in my previous blog frequently. As I was browsing articles, I came across the 7 Reasons Why 2014 Was a Great year for Feminism. Among these seven reasons was Emma Watson’s speech at the UN, which is what I will talk about today.

Emma Watson is my hero. She is, to me, the true embodiment of a feminist. She knows that not only women are oppressed, but men are, too. She talked about some of her experiences and how they have impacted her. She spoke of being called “bossy” when she was eight, and I could relate to this. I have been called bossy my entire life, especially by boys. I am a natural leader, and I was okay with being bossy.

But there are better words. Confident, for example. It’s wrong that I have to be called bossy, which is synonymous with “pushy” and “dictatorial.”

Emma Watson spoke of being sexualized by the media at the tender age of fourteen. Her girlfriends dropped out of sports at age fifteen because they didn’t want to appear “muscly.” At age eighteen, her male friends weren’t able to share their feelings or be sensitive. This has to stop. Teenage girls should be able to be girls, not sex objects, and they should be able to play sports and have muscle, and not be ashamed of it. Boys and men should be able to share their feelings and be sensitive and vulnerable, and not have to be macho 24/7.

In the speech, she also talked about how “feminism” is perceived as being a bad word, and people don’t want to identify as feminists. I know people who have said the same thing to me, yet they are feminists in my eyes. There is also a stereotype that feminism is man-hating. It’s not! I was very hurt and upset when Shailene Woodley said she was “not a feminist because I don’t hate men.” She is a role model for so many young girls, who are going to hear that and not be feminists because of her.

Emma Watson is my hero. She is, to me, the true embodiment of a feminist. I admire her so much for starting HeForShe, which I am hoping will be a success.

What do you think of Emma Watson’s speech? And have you ever been the subject of sexism? Tell me in the comments below.

Untitled 7

6 thoughts on “Feminist Fridays #2

  1. Loved Emma Watson’s speech at the UN. It was brilliant in conveying what people – feminists – have been saying for ages! HeforShe is ingenious too :D

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #19 | Free As a Girl With Wings

      • I know he’s not aha. And I know the way you are defining feminism, but the definition seems a little different than what feminists are actually doing. I agree (mostly, not entirely) with the last video, although I thought all three had good points. It’s more how feminists (the extreme feminists if you will) portray themselves and how that might actually be detrimental to boys/men.
        I get that you don’t hate men. I get that you have an outgoing, independent personality and I admire that. I’m not attacking you at all. I’m just trying to see if I can reconcile these two opposing ideas for myself, you know?

Comment, maybe? :)

