Double Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door AND Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is the queen. Whch is quite obvious. And [somewhat] irrelevant.

I am reviewing both Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After in one post because I finished them both so fast. So yeah. There aren’t any spoilers, by the way, although I may have a small section for Isla. Because I have thoughts about that.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Title: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: YA Contemporary

Number of Pages: 338

Overall Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis: Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Discussion: Lola was okay at the beginning. I was kind of meh about it. Lola seemed quite eccentric to me, with her costumes and all. Which I guess I was really judgmental about. [I’m sorry!] And then there was Max. WHHHHY????

facepalm animated GIF

I honestly disliked him from the beginning. Why?

  1. The age gap.
  2. They just didn’t click to me! It felt awkward whenever they were together and very insincere.
  3. He was very…fake to me. Nerdy, but rocker band? Like WHAT?

I also did not really get Lola’s parents. It was cool that she had two dads, but the brunches and phone calls and stuff seemed very out of place. She is seventeen. LET HER LIVE. I get the overprotective parents part, but COME ON.

Then.

Then Cricket came into the picture.

From the very start, I was like, “DATE HIM ALREADY!!! DUMP MAX AND DATE CRICKET.”

No spoilers or anything, so I can’t express my TRUE opinions.

And there was Anna and Etienne. That was pretty freaking awesome, to see them as an adorable couple. I love how they were true friends to Lola and gave her wise advice.

Speaking of friends, let’s talk about Lindsey. She was very awesome, kind of like a Nancy Drew. I wished we could’ve seen more of her. She was very interesting to me and I wanted to get to know her better, but this book kind of flew past the best friend stuff.

Despite all my complaints, I thought this book was ineffably and utterly cute. Once Cricket got there, I was 100% on board. He was funny and tall and witty and perfect.

movie animated GIF

That end, though. THAT END KILLED ME. :’(


Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: YA Contemporary

Number of Pages: 337

Overall Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last?

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

Discussion: Isla was just as amazing. Maybe better, even. Yeah, better. The premise was not promising, however I was hooked as soon as I started reading.

I could completely relate to Isla. Hopeless crush? Tell me about it. However, I am blonde and she is red-haired. I am tall, she is short. I have blue eyes, she has green. We both have freckles!

yes animated GIF I appreciated the fact that Kurt was visible, unlike Lindsey in Lola. And I was even happier when he and Isla didn’t fall in love. They sleep together, but no more than sibling-esque love. Those love triangle-thingies get old. *cough* Cassandra Clare *cough** And we got to interact with Kurt and see his feelings and obsessions and everything.

*JK I love Cassie’s books

Anyway.

I was a bit sad to see Josh and Rashmi break up, but…

This book hit me in the feels, though.

*SPOILER ALERT*

I just have to spoil and rant.

WHEN SHE ASKS HIM OUT I WAS LIKE ASDFGHJKL;

It was amazing. I was so happy for them.

And when Josh got expelled? Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl; Asdfghjkl;

There are no words.

*SPOILER OVER*

I honestly have no more words for this book. I am sorry. It is just perfection. Stephanie Perkins is queen. <3

Have you read these lovely bookies? If so, what did you think? And if not, will you? Tell me in the comments below.

Untitled 7

One thought on “Double Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door AND Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #20 | Free As a Girl With Wings

Comment, maybe? :)

