One-Year Blogoversary

UM. MINIONS. IT’S HAPPENING! IT’S MY ONE-YEAR BLOGOVERSARY!

excited animated GIF

And I didn’t get any cake. -_- I am obviously living the wrong life.

I have been blogging for one full year now. On this day, in 2014, I typed up my first blog post on Free As a Girl With Wings and pressed “Publish.” On this day, in 2014, Free As a Girl With Wings began. My adventure of online friends, new books, and everything else fantabulous began on this day, one year ago.

And before I launch into a whole discussion, I want to say: THANK YOU. You, my minions readers, are the reason I am writing this post today. Without your comments and encouragement and all that support and love, I never would have blogged for one year, or even dreamed of blogging for longer than that.

A want to say some special thank you’s to the bloggers who have inspired me and helped me on this long journey.

Sam @ Bookish Serendipity: You are the reason this blog even exists at all. You were the first book blogger I ever met and you are my biggest inspiration. You will always have a special place in my heart. And maybe even one day we can meet each other at BEA. :) Thank you so much, Sam.

Evi @ Where Books Never End: Although we don’t talk as much as we should [maybe Pinterest messaging can change that :) ] you are the bestest bloggy friend ever. We have so much in common and you are so easy to talk to. I can’t wait to see your blog grow and change, and see our friendship flourish. A thousand thank you’s, Evi!

Engie @ Musings From Neville’s Navel: Your content is inspiring and totally unique. I am glad to have found a fellow atheist and feminist in the blogging community to talk to. Your posts bring up such good topics and you are absolutely hilarious. I aspire to be like you. Thanks a million, Wise Girl. ;)

Cait @ Paper Fury: I don’t know if you know this [you probably do] but you are the ultimate blogging goal for me. You are the queen of the blogging community. Your posts are perfection and your personality is beyond amazing. :) I think you are a wonderful person and role model. Thank you, Cait.

John @ Teens Can Write, Too: Your blog opened my eyes to the world of querying [is it quEEr-ee-ing or quER-ee-ing???] and publishing. All your content is done really well and it educational, but fun. I especially appreciate your friendliness on Twitter and all the conversations we’ve had, especially our latest one where you encouraged me about my writing and were a true friend.

https://twitter.com/ABoredAuthor/status/560236488169111552

I really appreciate all that you do.

cute animated GIF

Now that I’m done with the thanking, I’d like to share some of my experiences and what book blogging and the community has taught me.

  1. I’m not alone. I’m not the only crazy fangirl. There are others like me! This is one of the best things about the book blogging community; we’re all crazy. And we stick by each other through it all.
  2. Books and writing are a huge part of me that I should embrace. Before I was a book blogger, I read a lot and I loved it. But reading was just…there. Once I started blogging, I realized that I am a bibliophile. Bookish. Fangirl. It really opened my eyes and let me be who I really want to be.
  3. You’re not always going to be perfect. I mean, I kind of already knew this, but I have experienced this in book blogging. My first posts compared to now? O.O It’s not pretty. Blogging takes a lot of practice. And once I did get into the rhythm of things, I would always compare myself to other, more experienced bloggers. And I learned that although my posts may not always be as perfect and flawless as theirs, that’s okay.
  4. BE YOU. The blogging community is really great because no one is afraid to unleash their inner crazy, loony, weirdness. It’s the best. No one is pressured to confirm to some social norm–we’re all outcasts.

To wrap this *celebration* up, I’m going to show you some [embarrassing] screenshots…of my past “blogging” experiences. OMG.

The first blog I am going to show you as from just a couple years ago. It’s called “Olive and Valarie’s Hangout.”

I made it with my then-best friend. We used pseudonyms, as you can tell.

capture1

This was our homepage…

capture2

And our welcome message. *dies* I know, it’s bad. >.<

capture3

My bio. This was when I was very girly. I thought I was so cool… XD

capture4

And my “fashin” tips. I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT TYPO. BTW, these tips are totally…horrid. I can’t even.

Okay so what was I even thinking???

And now for “Authoress4Life.” It was kind of a writing blog…

capture5

DON’T JUDGE ME. -.-

capture6

This is an awkward guide-thing I started. *runs away*

I have gone so far from my first posts and these [horrid] blogs. Thank you to everyone who follows me, comments, and likes my post. You are all beautiful, wonderful people. DFTBA.

Untitled 7

14 thoughts on “One-Year Blogoversary

  1. Haha!! I just read through (kind of) you old blogs and you r reactions to them! I’ve been bloggin for like, 3 months, I wonder, 3 years from now, would I be looking at them the way you are looking at these? I think I’ve been doing fine but… but what if they’re absolutely HORRENDOUS but only I think it’s fine?!?!?

    Anyway, CONGRATS!! ONE YEAR?!?! *applause!*
    ~Fari 0:)

  2. Congratulations on your one year of blogging! The best part has been seeing you develop your writing skills and your personal growth through your fearlessness- letting us see you as you go – day to day, week to week. Looking forward to more,more, more.
    Nana

  3. CONGRATULATIONS, CHLOE!!!! :D I love celebrating blogoversaries. :) Love the gif of Caesar Flickerman at the beginning of this post. xD

    Aw, you’re so sweet! *beams* I love your blog too… I really need to start posting more feminist stuff, so I’m always happy to read someone else’s blog if it has that. :)

  4. YAY CONGRATULATIONS! I love your blog! It’s been really cool watching you grow from your early posts to now, and I cannot wait to keep following you at The Book Hugger (Also: let me know if you have any wordpress tech-related question, ‘kay?) Oh ,and thanks for including me. The blogging community is honestly the best. ;D

  5. *throws cake at you* eat, Chloe, eat! :D Congratulations!!!! Eternal hugs, you are a wonderful blogger and person!!! I feel honored to be on the list. You are the most awesome bloggy friend ever! I really do hope we talk more! Thank you so much! <3 <3 <3 he he, I had about a bajillion blogs too originally. :) <3 happy blogoversary! <3

Comment, maybe? :)